Interviews, Am I thick?

I had an interview at work recently, for a position that honestly I didn’t want, but felt compelled to apply for.
The reason I felt compelled was due to it being something others have said I’d be good at… I had no real desire to actually do the job, as it’s a step up from the boring ass stuff I do already, just more boring stuff on a higher level.

Anyway, I did an application in two hours, put it in and was successful.

Now, my issue.. I’m no good at interviews! I already know this. I seldom get the jobs I’d like because I suck at them. After God knows how many years of putting myself through this, I still struggle. I’d never go for a high paid job just because I know id not get it. I know that’s a bad thing to say, but at 31 years of age, you just start to accept such things.
To help myself, usually, I don’t tell anyone. It’s extra pressure on myself if others know and then I have to tell them I was rubbish. Not a great feeling.

During this interview, it wasn’t as such that I got flustered, it was the questions posed. My mind couldn’t break down what it was they were trying to ask me to say. I don’t mind a three tier question, but the use of big, exhausting words is helping no one! I really struggled to understand what they meant. Having to ask someone to repeat a question too many times is horrid.
I was called back to inform that I’d been unsuccessful, which of course was no great surprise. But, she said “I strongly advise you to get feedback”. I know i need feedback, but when you hear time and time again, that “you need to answer the question with an example of when you did this or that”… When the issue is that the question is too complex for you to even understand, how can you even give an example?

Can I put in a request for ‘dumbed down’ wording…Of course not, that’s ridiculous!

I’m starting to wonder now if I actually have some sort of learning/social difficulty? Am I a bit thick? Can I get help with whatever this problem is? I really don’t know, but it’s starting to bother me and it’s ruining my chances of ever being successful 😦

Leave a Reply

